the soundtrack of my life…

Self-reflection

Posted on: December 18, 2007

As the year comes to a close, I find myself reflecting on the events of the past year and how much I’ve grown as a result.  Here are some of the things I’ve come to accept over the last year or so: 

  1. My views and outlooks on life change as I get older, but I think that deep down I’m the same person that I’ve always been.
  2. I am a giver, it’s what I do, but I can’t expect others to give as much or in the same manner that I do.
  3. Many times I put others’ happiness before my own.
  4. I’m only one person; I can’t be everywhere at once, no matter how hard I try to make everything happen.
  5. Since I don’t have siblings, I value the relationships that I have with friends and when they end or things go sour, it’s hard for me to let go.
  6. I’m not perfect and I don’t think that I am…I know I have many flaws; most that others don’t even notice or care about.
  7. I would do just about anything in the world for a few special people.
  8. I’m a work in progress.
  9. I love to get in my car and drive…I get a lot of thinking done in my car…
  10. I go through phases when I don’t like to be by myself…I’d rather be in someone else’s presence even if the other person is sleep.
  11. I love being around kids, they make me happy.
  12. Everyone has issues…mine might not be the same as yours but I’ve got things going on…
  13. Nothing makes me happier than seeing the people I love happy.
  14. I have a tendency to keep my feelings bottled up until I get overwhelmed and have a meltdown…
  15. Birthdays are a big deal to me (in case you didn’t already know)…not everyone feels the same way I do.  To some it’s just a regular day.  
  16. I remember a lot of stuff.  If something happens, whether good or bad, I can usually remember that date and all of the details surrounding the event for a long time.
  17. I’m very opinionated; however, I try to keep my opinions to myself when it comes to other people’s lives and the decisions that they make.
  18. I love being the “life of the party”, but I can’t always be “on” and need my down time.
  19. There are times when I don’t want to talk to certain people, don’t be offended if I don’t always pick up your phone call or answer your text message.
  20. I have a tainch of dyslexia and ADD…something that makes perfect sense to me may not make sense to others.
  21. I am complicated.
  22. I’m smart and have a large vocabulary…I’m not purposefully being condescending or trying to make you look dumb by “droppin’ some knowledge” or using a big word (or two.)
  23. If you’ve met my mom, you’ve met me.  As the years go on, I realize that I am just like my mom; it’s a blessing and a curse.
  24. I am a people person.
  25. I am the coolest person you will ever meet. 
Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

December 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
