the soundtrack of my life…

Happy New Years!

Posted on: January 1, 2008

I hope that you all had a safe and enjoyable evening last night. 

It’s time for me to reveal my theme for 2008.  For the past few years, I’ve come up with a universal theme for life that I apply to everything I do and say.  This year’s theme came to me around 8am on December 31st, 2007 as I was watching Vh1Soul. 

Life can bring us through many changes;
just don’t give up;
it’s gonna be alright.
People come and they go
it’s just the way that it goes
…”   – “It’s Alright” by Ledisi 

My theme for 2008 is simply: It’s Alright.  I know what you’re thinking, that could mean anything.  And that’s precisely the point.

It’s alright for me to say no.

It’s alright for me to look out for me.

It’s alright if I can’t be everywhere for everyone all at once, I’m not supposed to.

It’s alright if things change.

It’s alright to just be and not think about what people are going to say.

It’s alright to disappear for a while and do what I need to do for me.

And so on and so forth…

I’m not hurting anyone by not following this mantra, but myself.  I have to allow myself to do what I want to do, everyone else is.  Anyone who takes offense to it, wasn’t a true friend in the first place and I didn’t need that person around bringing me down.  

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
