the soundtrack of my life…

The Missing Part of Me, Part 3

Posted on: February 11, 2008

“I’m deeply sorry that I wasn’t available for you. Perhaps it is God’s will that we connect after all these years.”

As nervous as I was about making the phone call to my father, I think my father was equally or more nervous than I was. I could hear it in his voice.

HIS.VOICE.

What do you mean I heard my father’s voice for the first time EVER? It’s still so surreal now that I think about it. Who’da thunk that I’d be in contact with the other part of me in 2008? I know I didn’t see this coming at all.

I think he’s still in shock that I wrote him in the first place. He said that he read my letter a bunch of times before writing me back.

I found out last night that my father had been thinking of me all of these years. There were many times he wanted to contact me, but didn’t because he didn’t know how I would react, if I would be receptive or if it would make things worse for me. (In a sense, I’m glad that things are panning out the way they are. I’m not sure how I would’ve felt if the relationship was forced on me at another time in my life.)

He wants to meet me. And he wants me to meet the rest of my family.

There are more!

I have a 35 year old brother who is married with a 2 year old son (I’m an AUNT!) AND I have a 20 year old brother who is a junior in college. I’m no longer the only child I once thought I was. He wants me to meet EVERYONE!

I am so much like my mother when it comes to most things, but there are some things that I’m the total opposite of her. That’s one of the reasons that I wanted to contact him. Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE FOOD — cooking it, eating it, reading about it, watching it on tv. Come to find out my father is a cooks as a hobby. Everyone loves his cooking! (Does that sound like someone you know??? Yup, you guessed it…ME!)

He’s going to be emailing me some pictures this week, so we’ll see how much I really look like him…

We discussed when I will be home in DC next…we will be setting something up to meet at the end of March…WOW…

3 Responses to "The Missing Part of Me, Part 3"

that’s a crazy story. I met my Dad for the first time back when I was in high school and it was crazy. I know exactly how you feel when you said it was “surreal.”

This is so wonderful. Glad everything is working out.

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
