the soundtrack of my life…

WTF?!?!?

Posted on: February 14, 2008

Have you heard about this???

An American couple is raising money to build a theme park in Haiti where visitors get to be slaves for the day…12 hours to be exact. Because that sounds like good times!

Tourists, who chose to participate, will be given traditional African clothing and then be KIDNAPPED, CHAINED and FORCED to march to a slave ship in a mock crossing of the Atlantic. After their “voyage,” the slaves will then be sold, tortured and forced to work on a plantation. (Again, I say WTF?) Towards the end of the 12-hour day, visitors will re-enact the slave rebellion that led to the establishment of Haiti.

Here is a link to the website for Memory Village. There is a breakdown of all of the different areas of the theme park.

Now I heard about this a few days ago and I’m still baffled. Like I’m all for museums like the National Holocaust Museum in Washington, DC where you get an idea of what Jews went through…but I don’t know about this one. I totally see where the couple is trying to go with this, but at the same time, I think the execution is all wrong.

What do you think? Would you pay for the “experience”?

6 Responses to "WTF?!?!?"

WTF? That is ridiculous. Why would anyone want to remember this and go through this. Even the holocaust museum was a lot to deal with. You just can’t believe what has happened in the past and to repeat it in anyway and for profit just seems wrong!

this is absolutely insane. I feel like it can’t even be real, like it’s a total hoax or something. I think you’re post title sums it up pretty well.

What in the Cut-My-Foot-Off-And-Call-Me-Toby-Hell?

Alleged Ringleader — Yes, it’s for profit and they’ve set up a foundation to raise money to make this dream a reality!

Apollocreed — I was hoping it was a hoax, but I’ve seen a lot of information about it…

FRM — HA HA HA, my thoughts exactly!

I can’t wait until you post something new. Every time I look at this post I have a moment.

*going into the archives so I can comment about something else*

MiMi- I’m gonna need you to quit making ish up for the sake of your blog. Surely you jest!

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
