the soundtrack of my life…

Rhythmless Nation

Posted on: February 21, 2008

I lost my rhythm yesterday afternoon on my way home from work. As a black woman, that’s a little hard to admit. But it’s happened before…

From 1994 to 1998, I lost my rhythm too. It took for me to go to an HBCU to get it back. You see, I was attending a predominately white college preparatory school during that time. (I affectionately call those my “white years.”) Before high school, I was one of the best dancers that I knew…I swear, it’s like I got accepted into my high school and started dancing off beat…(I guess that’s what I get for making fun of those rhythmically challenged kids in elementary school.)

However, yesterday I had a relapse…it all started with Miley Cyrus’ “See You Again” (again Babs, who knew Hannah Montana could groove like that?!?) It all went downhill from there, thanks to 90’s on 9 on XM…

  • The Offspring “Pretty Fly (For A White Guy)”
  • Four Non Blondes “What’s Going On”
  • The Spin Doctors “Two Princes”
  • La Bouche “Sweet Dreams”

It had been a good 5 minutes of me doing “the lasso” before I realized I had lost it. I knew the only way for me to get it back was to turn to the uncut hip-hop station, and even that was almost not enough to bring me back to the Rhythm Nation.

Damn that catchy music from the 90s and those Catholic schoolgirls I went to high school with!

7 Responses to "Rhythmless Nation"

anything that has to do with the spin doctors is not a good thing.

I have pretty good rhythm (for a white girl, i guess, lol), but give me some cheesy music and out come the VERY cheesy dance moves. It’s horrible. It’s like I turn into a different person.

apollocreed – Ha ha ha but you are SO right about the Spin Doctors! That’s how I knew I had gone to far…

Maxie – I felt like I was a different person yesterday…it was kinda scary!

Ok, what’s sad is that these songs are from your high school days and they are from my college days.

And how you gonna name your post after one of my former honey dips!?

Babs – ha ha ha Rhythm Nation happened to be playing on my iPod when I was typing it and it hit me…but you have to agree, the title fits quite nicely! LOL

That’s a hot mini-playlist. Add some Nirvana and Chili Peppers and it’s all good.
Oh and the Presidents of the United States “Peaches”.
And Beck! I had white years too!

The Lasso! Hooray! That’s fabulous. La Bouche is classic-ish, I feel. Kind of reminds me of birthday parties at our local roller-skating rink.

If memory serves, I think that may have actually been a couple’s skate song. Odd…

(Yay for ADELE!)

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
