the soundtrack of my life…

I’m not alone…

Posted on: May 7, 2008

There are times when I feel like no one else in the world gets me and understands what I’m going through. But then I talk to a friend or read one of my favorite blogs and it puts everything in perspective. I’m not the only one having a bad day…I’m not the only one battling the bulge, so to speak…Lord knows I’m not the only one with financial issues…I’m not the only one who puts on a sunny disposition even when things aren’t so sunny…I’m not the only one who doesn’t always like to be alone…

We all go through things, but we all deal with them in different ways. However I am realizing that there are more people like me. We pretend like things are all good because we don’t like to be vulnerable or we think the world needs us to be strong and “together.” It’s when we hit our breaking point — usually something small and routine that doesn’t go the way it normally does — that we lose it. We hope that the people that we give so much of ourselves to will be there for us, but at the same time we don’t want to appear to be weak so we just keep to ourselves…

For the most part I’m a very private person and even though I share many of my thoughts here, I never give every detail of my life. There are times when I’m so emotional and deep in thought that I have to find a way to clear my mind. To tell the truth, my friends don’t really know what’s going on in my head the majority of the time, however, those closest to me know when something’s not quite right. It’s second nature for me to worry about my friends and their well-being, and then one day it hits me — I’ve fixed everything for everyone else, but I’m still a wreck…

I don’t know where I was going when I decided to write this because now that I’ve re-read it, I don’t know if it makes much sense. But I guess I wrote it to say that no matter how tough things may get, no matter how much things seem not to work out for you, no matter how alone you may feel, there is someone else who’s been there or is having the same thoughts and feelings…sometimes that person is who you least expect it to be…

2 Responses to "I’m not alone…"

This is very true. I just posted on something similar the other day … that I’ll be out reading blogs and find that the words of other’s also apply to me! We’re truly not alone … our lives have definite parallels. I find that rather comforting to know that there’s probably nothing I’ll ever go through that someone hasn’t gone through before!

I truly appreciate this post. Some people don’t understand why I blog, or why I read blogs.

Straight up – there is comfort in knowing that you are not alone in whatever you are dealing with. Sometimes you don’t want opinions from those closest to you – you just want something a bit more objective. I find it odd how I find comfort in strangers rather than “friends,” on certain situations.

I must say I really appreciate it when I read a rather personal account on a blog b/c I know it takes a lot to admit faults…but nobody is perfect and it’s a perfect feeling knowing that we’re not alone!

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
