the soundtrack of my life…

That’s my mama!

Posted on: May 12, 2008

“You know him as Joe the Policeman, from the ‘What’s Going Down?’ episode of ‘That’s My Mama’…give it up for Mr. Randy Watson!” LMAO Ok, maybe not, but the title of this made me think of Coming to America!

This is a picture of my mom and I when I was around 6 months old. My mom and I have been going through some things recently, so she wanted me to come home for Mother’s Day. Praise the Lord for a last-minute fare sale! I went home first thing Saturday morning and then came back late Sunday night. I can honestly say that, for the first time in a long time, we didn’t argue about anything.  We usually argue about so many things, but most of the arguments are because my mom likes to get hyped up and jump to conclusions.

The problem is my mom has a wandering mind. A wandering mind? If she’s talking to someone or watching something on TV, no matter what it is and how little it relates to me, she will have some crazy dream with me in it. Then she ends up calling me and panicking about something that would never apply to me. For example, one time she was watching some made-for-TV movie and had a dream that she came down to Atlanta to visit me. We were sleeping and she heard a noise coming from the hall closet. She went to see what it was and I was hiding a baby by the towels! WTF? First of all, if I had a baby, I would never not tell her. Second, I would NEVER hide a baby in the linen closet!

If she calls me to see what I’m doing, and I say nothing, she thinks there is something wrong with me because I’m not doing anything. I mean sometimes a sista just needs to chill out and fall off the radar. Like I know she thinks I have lost my damn mind in the last 8 months or so, but really I haven’t. These days, I’m just trying to find myself and figure out where I’m going.

As I get older, it’s getting harder for her to let go and accept that I’m not her little girl anymore. I’ll always be her baby, but I’ve gotta make my own way.

7 Responses to "That’s my mama!"

rrrrr thats lovely but I get what you mean though thats the same with me, however im only in my early twenties so I can understand why my mom would still worry for my experiences in life. Well as long as you appreciate each other thats the main thing which im sure you do 😉 I bet she realises deep down but still remembers you as her lil baby 🙂 xxx

Awww, lookie at my little Mimi! Cutie pie!

I totally feel you on the Moms thing. We have our ups and downs. The last time I was with her we didn’t argue and it was so pleasant.

thats a cute pic:-) Yea I feel you on the mom not wanting to cut the strings lol. she loves you..but yea she needs to let you spread those wings and fly. I hope things get better for you two:-)

That is a beautiful picture!! My mother’s day was pleasant as well which is really unusual. Last year was a disaster!

You and your mommy are beautiful

As a Mom, its always going to be hard to let go..Even to this day my mom will still question me like a 12 yr old…and Im damn near 40.

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
