the soundtrack of my life…

Lboogie, the gamer

Posted on: June 12, 2008

Thanks to Babs, I can now call myself a gamer. Babs was asked to host a Girlfriend’s Guide to Gaming. You see, Nintendo is marketing the Nintendo DS Lite to women. (Check out the commercials with America Ferrara, Carrie Underwood and Liv Tyler!)

I just got home from the party. And I must say I HAD A BLAST! The party was held in Castleberry Hill in this cute little lofty building. There was free food and beverages, a group of fabulous ladies and the Nintendo DS Lite. It was the most fun I’ve had in a long time, and it was something totally different and out of the norm for me. When I walked in, I was giving this cute bracelet, which was filled with charms from each activity area as the night went on — a checkered heart, yellow puzzle piece, a pink shoe, and a guitar pick. There were four different areas, each with a different game for us to test out. I started with Mario Kart DS. How much fun was that? Of course, it could’ve been extra fun because I kept winning! 🙂 Who knew I’d be so good at video games? I guess all those nights at Decatur’s house with his PS3, XBox360, Wii, and PSP have rubbed off on me! LOL

After kickin’ some ass on the race track, I headed over to the Brain Age area. To start off, I took a “test” to see what my brain age was. Apparently my brain age is 58. I was told that that was good and with some practice, I can bring that age down. (The goal brain age is 20.) It wasn’t a bad game, but I think that game will have to grow on me. You see, I’m dyslexic and there was a section of the “test” that involved memorizing a set of 25 numbers and then rewriting them in the same order. I think I may have gotten 4 numbers correct, needless to say, I have to work on that section.

After my dyslexia kicked in with the numbers, I decided it was time for me to switch to words. I headed to the Crosswords DS area. Man, this was my kind of game. There were 3 options within the game — crosswords, wordsearch and anagrams. I didn’t do any of the crosswords. I completed a few wordsearches and then decided to try my hand at the anagrams. I swear I could’ve sat there toying with the anagrams for hours. I love anagrams, and have played the anagram game on Decatur’s PSP plenty of times.

The final station was Guitar Hero: On Tour, which doesn’t come out until June 22nd, so we got a sneak peek. This was a fun game, well, once I figured out what the hell I was doing. At first, I was just making noise, but I was still jammin’ to the songs that you had to choose from. My two favorites were “Are You Gonna Be My Girl” by Jet and “All The Small Things” by blink-182.

It was great to meet some new ladies, especially Coop (I felt like I’ve known you forever though lol!) and reconnect with some ladies I haven’t see in a while. The funniest part of the whole evening was the fact that just about everyone had a nickname — it was either their blogosphere name or a nickname Babs gave to them personally (like me) — I think it threw off the ladies who were working the event for Nintendo.

OMG, I almost forgot the BEST part! We each got to take home our own DS Lite and a copy of Brain Age 2! You can’t beat a party with free food and drinks, fabulous company, AND free gifts! That equals a HAPPY ME! 🙂 Good times!

Thanks again Babs for the invite!

5 Responses to "Lboogie, the gamer"

The Wii is the bizness… I love my Wii… its a work out… but fun just the same

Damn I’m jealous!

Thanks for coming, Countess. It was a stone cold groove!

Countess: my cousin from another, um…grandmother? lol
Y’all were taking that Mario Kart WAY too seriously. I was scared to even get in on the game while y’all were there. I was just waiting for the poker chips or money to start flying! LMAO
It was so nice to finally meet you.

It was nice meeting you and I just want to say I did win one game of MarioKart but that was probably b/c somebody killed you early on.

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
