the soundtrack of my life…

Tuesday Night Jam

Posted on: June 25, 2008

Last night, I hung out with Brran and Coop at Sugarhill for Tuesday Night Jam. TNJ is a weekly event, but this week was a special edition celebrating the release of Anthony David’s cd Acey Ducey and Hidden Beach Recordings’ Unwrapped Vol. 5: The Collipark Café Sessions. The evening started off (slowly) with a live broadcast on Classic Soul 102.5 (It started off so slow, that my homegirl Jay left early.) Anthony David performed a couple of tracks with his acoustic guitar for the radio audience, so at least Jay got some entertainment before she left.

Soon after the broadcast ended, the party got started. They had the BET Awards playing on the big screen but they had the sound off because DJ Salah Anase was spinnin’ the exclusive tracks to keep everyone hype. Around 11pm, the host Joi headed to the stage and did her version of The Eurhythmic’s “Sweet Dreams” — and killed it! That chick is so talented but so under-rated. She got the crowd warmed up, but the next performance set the roof on fiyah! (That sounded a little corny, but oh well…)

Mike Phillips and the Hidden Beach All Stars hit the stage to perform a few tracks of the new album. the did Plies and T-Pain’s “Shawty” (Mike Phillips even had the instrument to recreate the talk box effect!), Snoop Dogg’s “Sensual Seduction,” DJ Unk’s “Walk It Out,” and Hurricane Chris’ “Ay Bay Bay.” It was so cool to hear hip-hop tracks broken down in such a funky way. I have the first 3 volumes of Unwrapped, and will definitely have to pick up Volume 5.

After the Hidden Beach All-Stars did their thing, Anthony David came out to perform a few songs, this time with the house band. Killed it! I’m definitely going to have to get his album this weekend. Joi came back to the stage and did a couple more tracks, including Coop’s jam “Lick.” LMAO

The band took a break and Salah Anase switched to some old school jams that got the crowd movin’. That was pure entertainment because we started dancing at our table and “battling” these ladies at the table next to us…all while some drunk lady (who pulled up a chair at our table) offered us drinks, tried talking with us and kept leaving her coat in our care while she made her way through the crowd. During the break, I looked at the bar, and saw a woman in some skinny jeans, a fab bag and some boots working it…little did I know, that woman was a man! I told Coop to turn around to see what I was seeing, at first glance, she too thought it was a woman and turned back around. I said “look again” and she realized it was a man sashayin’ around the club in heels, skinny jeans and a purse. I think Brran was a little traumatized, but we made it our mission to get a picture of “her.” Only in Atlanta, will you see this:

I had a blast with the two of them, that is, until D’Maestro hit the stage. He was like a super-sized Cee-Lo Green. We were scared and when he “hit” that last high note, we decided it was time to leave. I can’t wait ’til the next time we hang!

6 Responses to "Tuesday Night Jam"

“She” was too fly. The legs look even better in the afternoon light. lol

I guess it’s true when they say ‘The Freaks Come Out At Night.’ That shit was SO unnecessary. Smh (now that I look at that picture, is it just me or are dude’s boots doin the crackhead lean?)

Btw, I WAS traumatized, but it wasn’t as bad as that damn Chris Brown/Ciara instructional sex ed vid- uh um, I meant performance at the BET awards. She could take me down anytime! All that air humping that dude did was a bit much, but hey. The overall performance was cool.

And remember. I’m gonna get one of those shiny shirts that dude had on, and while I’m at it, I’m gonna go see who makes T-Pain’s top hats. Yea. That’s that backriver deep down in the delta style! LOL

Wait, what in the hell? OOOOOOOOOOOOO k..them boots are hottness though *two snaps to the side*

Apollocreed took the words right out of my mouth. Oh…my…God.

I had to come by your blog since Brran credited you with originally posting that pic. Thats definitely gonna give me nightmares…

dem boots is fierce…

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
