the soundtrack of my life…

Weekend in Review

Posted on: July 23, 2008

…And I’m back! I know I all but fell of the face of the Earth for the last few weeks, but I’m happy to inform you that this past weekend helped bring the Lboogie you know and love back! (Sure this is a couple of days late, but I had to recuperate!)

On Thursday afternoon, my friend from high school Tiff Tiff came down to the A to visit me. (Tiff Tiff got bonus points for visiting me twice in a little over 6 months! One of the only people who has!) I’d been looking forward to her visit since she told me she was coming 2 months ago. This trip was much needed for both of us – she needed a vacation and I needed some cheering up.

We started the weekend with a nice dinner at the Cheesecake Factory – only because I had been feenin’ for some Miso Salmon! And boy was it DE-LISH!! Just what I needed to get the evening started – read: give me “ITIS”. From there we went back to my place and took power naps, I know that was kinda “fat” of us, but we knew it was going to be a long night since we were planning on going to see The Dark Knight when it came out at midnight. Decatur came over and we headed to Hollywood 24 to catch the midnight show, however because there were so many people trying to see the movie all seven midnight shows and about five 12:30am shows were sold out. Luckily for us, the theater added another show at 1:20am and Decatur was able to get us tickets. IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THIS MOVIE, YOU NEED TO GO SEE IT!!!! It’s a great movie…though it’s kinda long – 2 ½ hours, but well worth it! I personally think that Heath Ledger’s performance as the Joker deserves an Oscar, and that has nothing to do with the fact that Heath died. We got out of the movie theater at 4am and made it back to my house around 4:30am.

I took a 2-hour nap, and then I had to get up to do something at work. Luckily for me, I had the rest of the day off. (Though that didn’t mean that I was gonna get anymore sleep!) By the time I got back home, Tiff was up and ready to start the day. We spent the day hanging out in Little 5 Points doing some shopping and eating sushi. My mom’s best friend Fran called to say she wanted to take us to dinner that evening so we didn’t want to eat too much. We took a quick power nap (THANK GOD!!!) and then headed to Virginia Highlands to meet Fran and her nephew Jason at Noche. I don’t know if we were hungry or the food was better because it was free…but when I tell you it was one of the best meals that I’ve had in a long time – YES!

After dinner, Tiff and me headed to my house to change clothes so that we could head to MJQ. Decatur and Tiff’s cousin Alex met at my house and we headed out for the night. Something told me before we left the house that it was going to be an interesting night…boy was I right! MJQ was a blast as always. We even got a performance from Eva Kennedy and Hollyweerd. We shut down MJQ, but decided that it was too early to end the night and someone (no names mentioned) decided that we should go see some “shoe models.” So at 4am we headed to the nearest “shoe modeling” establishment. It was entertaining but 2 things (there were more observations, but I’ll expand on that at a later date) I noticed – 1) the caliber of “models” has declined DRASTICALLY and 2) have you ever looked at the “model’s” faces when they are dancing??

On the way to see the “shoe models” someone mentioned cooking breakfast, so that was the only thing on my mind – getting to Kroger to get breakfast food. After a couple of dances, we finally headed to Kroger around 5am. Poor Alex couldn’t hang with us anymore and fell asleep in the car while we were twirling around looking for turkey bacon. LOL! We got back to my house around 5:30am and I started fixing breakfast. Alex was the first to fall off…Tiff Tiff wasn’t far behind her…and Decatur kept fading in and out and before I finished cooking, I was the only one still awake. Dah well, my breakfast was the BOMB! I ended up finally falling asleep around 7:30am….

But only for 2 hours…because then I was back up again, and so was everyone else. We ended up bullshittin’ for a few hours then me, Decatur and Tiff got our lives together and headed down to Centennial Olympic Park and the World of Coke so Tiff could get her tourist on.

It was fun, but hot as hell standing outside. The heat made us hungry and tired, so we headed to Front Page News before taking it back to the crib. We had planned to go out and do something Saturday night, but our bodies had other plans and decided that it was time to crash. Tiff was out for the count until 9:30am Sunday morning…I was up a bit longer than she was but was knocked the hell out for a good 9 hours!

Sunday morning, we got up and headed to Sunday brunch near Perimeter Mall. From there we headed out to Powder Spring to visit with Tiff’s god brother and family. While we were driving down the road we noticed this sign:

And saw a bunch of cars parked along the side of the road. Being the inquisitive minds we are, we decided to see what was up. Lo and behold, there’s a blueberry patch. Basically, you get a buckets – there were 2 sizes available. Each bucket has a price written on the side of it. Based on honor, you put money in a cash box that’s sitting on a table, and then you get to pickin’! (Praise the Lord for the nice white lady who gave us a few pointers!)


After getting back to civilization, we went to Chili’s for dinner then Decatur came over (AGAIN) and we headed to Apache Café…that was kinda interesting. It was open mic night. We saw a few great artists, whose names I can’t remember right now.

Even though I didn’t get much sleep and lost my voice, I had a GREAT weekend and I’m so glad that Tiff came to visit me! How were your weekends???

1 Response to "Weekend in Review"

Oh he’s winning the Oscar. No doubt about it.

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
