the soundtrack of my life…

Motor City Fun

Posted on: August 12, 2008

Last Thursday evening, I headed to Detroit to visit my homie Erika Kane for her birthday and because her momma kept talking about me never coming to visit. I knew it was going to be an interesting weekend because right as I was about to leave work Thursday afternoon, all hell broke loose in the skies and a severe storm hit the Metro area. I decided to wait the storm out in my office, when all of a sudden the power goes out in the building (that has NEVER happened before.) After about 30 minutes, the rain let up and I headed home to finish getting my stuff together.

I had a feeling that my flight would be delayed because it’s ATL and there are always “weather” delays even when it’s sunny. But my flight had been delayed 2 hours…needless to say I was unimpressed. However the fun didn’t stop with the flight delay. After checking my bag and heading through security, I decided to post up across from my gate so that I wasn’t sitting in front of the gate, but I was close enough to see what was going on. I had gotten comfy with my snacks and my magazines when this creepy looking white man (better known as creepy white man or cwm) in a wheelchair was pushed by a airport employee near me. (Why he had to drop him right in front of me? I don’t know because it was hella empty at this point!) I know I sound like an asshole, but the wheelchair wasn’t what made him look creepy. You see, his outfit is what made him look creepy — he had on a mesh shirt, hospital scrub pants, and hospital bootie, which were covering bandages on his feet. I guess creepy white man wasn’t feeling too well because he decided to get out of the wheelchair and lie down across a bunch of seats across from me:

Yet again, this didn’t make him creepy. However all the moaning and groaning he did while he laid down did. It even freaked out the Shaniqua Jones and the Johnson Family Reunion sitting in the seats behind him. So he lay there for about 20 minutes, when a bunch of people flooded into the gate area looking for seats. Most people just walked past him freaked out because homie was looking so creepy…that is except for the gangsta old white man (also known as g.o.w.m) who decided to take the seat by c.w.m’s feet. I really thought there was gonna be a rumble because c.w.m looked up like he was bout to beat g.o.w.m’s ass! Luckily no violence ensued. And g.o.w.m decided to tell c.w.m he should probably check to make sure his flight hadn’t been moved to another gate or anything. C.w.m proceeded to get up to shimmy back into his wheelchair….well, as he got up, his pants started falling down and I was given a full view of his pale white ass and proceeded to be traumatized and temporarily blinded by his ass and his shitty scrubs and NO DRAWLS! EEEEEKKKK!!!! All I wanted to do was get on a plane to go visit my friend and I had to get traumatized by c.w.m!  Bastard!

So I finally get to Detroit around 12:30am and all was FINALLY well with the world.  Friday was a leisurely day of shopping and catching up.  Friday night we attempted to hit the club, but nothing was really poppin at any of the clubs downtown.  So we decided to call it a night around 1:30am…but not before getting burgers at TJ’s.  Saturday was Erika Kane’s birthday.  We woke up late and decided to make a Target run for a few things.  The fam and I were going to head to Ann Arbor for an early dinner at the Gandy Dancer, so we didn’t want to eat anything too heavy for lunch.  Erika Kane suggested getting a hot dog.  I said cool…however I was slightly confused when we pulled into the Home Depot parking lot.  We get out and go in to a hot dog stand inside the store.  When I tell you that was the best hot dog EVER!  I mean look at it:

It was just enough to tide us over before dinner.

Momma Cheryl and Granny Emma                                                                           Me and Erika Kane

Dinner was great!  Food was delish and the desserts were even better!  We sampled the Chocolate Truffle Cake and the White Chocolate Cheesecake — nothing makes me happier than chocolate and they didn’t disappoint.  We headed back to Detroit to rest a bit (read: ethnic fatigue — thanks Deutlich!) before we got dressed to head to Esko for a party Erika Kane’s friend was throwing.  Here are a couple of pictures from the evening:

Sunday we spent the majority of the day in Nordstrom’s Rack — more specifically in the shoe section.  Then came back to the crib and threw some chicken, pork chops and fish on the grill.

Erika Kane, I had a blast!  I’m so glad that I was able to come visit you for a few days!  I’ll see you soon!

2 Responses to "Motor City Fun"

Glad you had a safe trip and that you made it back safe.

And i’m mad b/c you called it ‘Ethnic Fatigue’. LOL

Wasn’t Pineapple Express funny as hell? My part was when dude said “You just got killed by a Daewoo b*tch!”

LMAO

I hope someone calls me a Gangsta Old White Man one day.

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
