the soundtrack of my life…

The Day The World Changed

Posted on: September 11, 2008

It’s hard to believe that it’s been 7 years since the tragedy at the World Trade Center.

I remember exactly what I was doing and who I was with.  Do you?

1 Response to "The Day The World Changed"

I remember watching CNN about the first plane from my bed. I was shocked, but kinda glazed over. Still went to class because school wasn’t canceled or anything. Had a quiz in African American Studies 2010. I’ll never forget. During the quiz folks just started running in the halls, yelling and talking. Dr. Jones told us to finish the doggone quiz! lol
Eventually kids started just opening classroom doors saying school was closing down. I walked out the classroom to the corner or P’tree Center Ave and Decatur and it was pandemonium. Traffic wasn’t moving and folks were just running. I was cutting between cars and ran into Joi. She said ‘come on!’ and we damn near ran up Decatur to 5 points. MARTA security let the gates open and were telling folks to just get on the trains. They wanted people away from downtown.
On the train everyone was trying to call family but no one could get through.
I remember being out of breathe when I finally got home.
I’ll never forget that day. I remember it like it was yesterday.

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
