the soundtrack of my life…

The Best Christmas Presents EVER

Posted on: December 30, 2008

I must say that this Christmas will probably go down as the best Christmas that I’ve had in a LONG time!  I know that the holidays are all about spending time with friends and family, but so much emphasis has been placed on the materialism of the season that the true meaning gets lost in translation.

This was the first year that my Christmas embodied what it is all about…

Many of you know that at the beginning of 2008, I established contact with my father for the first time in my life.  We have been gradually building a relationship over the year, and this would be the first time that I’d be in town to meet everyone.

My father called me on the Wednesday before I went to D.C. to invite me over to my big brother Kenn’s house on Saturday.  I’ll admit I was both excited and nervous when I got his call.  I always wanted a sibling growing up, but all I ever had were play brothers and sisters.

Saturday came.  From the time I woke up, all I could think about was “The Meeting.”  Luckily, my day was packed and helped to calm my nerves temporarily.  I flew into D.C. Saturday morning, then met my mom and cousins at the house to head to my punkin Nichelle’s birthday party at Chuck E. Cheese.  After we left the birthday party, I dropped mom at home and then headed to my brother’s house.

I got to his apartment building and the closer I got to his apartment, the more nervous I got.  Getting off the elevator and walking down the hall, I could hear talking and laughing coming from an apartment.  I wasn’t sure if I was at the correct door because there was a wreath covering the numbers, so I walked past the door to see the next numbers….

Yep, that was the place.  I stood in front of the door and took a couple of deep breaths, and knocked…

The talking from inside the apartment stopped.  The door opened and my big brother Kenn gave me a smile and a big hug.  Followed by my sister-in-law, my father, my step-mom, my step-brother and his fiancee, then my little brother Kai and my nephew Khalab (who had been practicing “Merry Christmas Auntie Lauren!” before I got there — he just about melted my heart with that one!) Talk about a warm welcome!

As soon as I got settled on the sofa, my step-mom announced that it was “time for the gift exchange.”  Gift exchange?  Hell, I AM the gift.  LOL  So my big bro proceeds to walk towards me with a heavy gift bag, and places it on my lap, stating it’s “from your brother.”  Then, my little bro hands me a box, followed by my father, step-mom and sister-in-law.  I was totally overwhelmed.  My new family members gave me a cast iron pot, a watch, a cookbook, a necklace and a scarf.  How special did I feel?

I spent about 3 hours with my brothers, father, step-mom, sister-in-law and nephew.  It was great.  When it was time to leave my big bro walked me to my car and we had a little talk.  He said he was sorry that he was just finding out about me, but “I’m his sister,” and he’s eager to build a relationship with me and “be the big brother that I had been missing out on all these years.”  I swear, it took everything I had not to burst out into happy tears at that moment!  He gave me one of the best hugs I’ve ever received and told me that he would periodically be calling to check up on me.  :’-)

Though my little brother was a little standoffish at first, I definitely felt warmly received by everyone.  I don’t think I could’ve asked for a better first meeting or Christmas present.  I’m excited to learn more about everyone and build a relationship with my family in the future…

By the way, I know you are looking for pictures, but I don’t have any.  I know, I know, I’m slacking.  But I was totally overwhelmed by everything and taking pictures just totally slipped my mind.  Stay tuned for pics in the next few weeks, when I go home…

2 Responses to "The Best Christmas Presents EVER"

This brought a little tear to my eye. I am muy happy for you!

I am so happy for you! You definitely had a great Christmas!

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
