the soundtrack of my life…

Half?

Posted on: January 31, 2009

Why do people make a big deal about stressing the “half” in half-siblings?

I mean, seriously, you are still related to the person by blood, even more so than cousins.

Who cares if you share one or both parents?  Ya’ll are still siblings.

When people ask me if I have any siblings?  (NOW) I say I have 2 brothers.

Yesterday, I was on the phone with my homie Decatur and I could hear his mom in the background yelling something about half-brothers.  Just like me, Decatur is his mom’s only child, but his father has 3 other kids.  He doesn’t refer to them as his half-siblings.  They are his brothers and sister.

I feel the same exact way.  Why do we have to always create such a separation, especially when it comes to children?  We didn’t ask to only have one parent in common, it’s just the way that things worked out.  But it doesn’t make us any less brother and sister.

My brothers don’t treat me like half a sister.  And Decatur doesn’t treat his brothers and sister half-ly either.  You’re either sister and brother or not. Plain as that.

1 Response to "Half?"

Family is family. Geez.

Why go through all the BS with Titles and names?

Exactly, like my homeboy said – I share half my blood with my brothers, I only share a quarter of my blood with my mom’s nieces and nephews. So my brothers are more apart of me than the rest of my family!

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Days of my Life

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
page hit counter

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
